Wisdom House History
Nestled in the foothills of the Berkshires, Wisdom House Retreat and Conference Center invites you to an experience of peace and tranquility.
This former center of spiritual development for the community of Catholic sisters, the Daughters of Wisdom, provides an environment conducive to reflection and creative expression..
The Wisdom House logo expresses the mission of the center which is one of hospitality with roots in the Judaeo-Christian tradition and the spirit of the Daughters of Wisdom. The triangle symbolizes divinity; the pitcher and bread represent the nourishment of Divine Wisdom which Wisdom House offers for body and soul.
(Hebrew Scriptures, Book of Proverbs, 9, 1-6)
Now Wisdom House is the interfaith center which welcomes women and men who value seeking and learning in a contemplative environment. The center is a ministry of the Daughters of Wisdom of the United States Province.
As a country retreat and conference center, Wisdom House spans 54 acres of meadows, woods and brooks. Indoor and outdoor sanctuary areas and labyrinth encourage meditation, prayer and creative thinking.
This property, originally known as Spruce Brook Farm, was purchased in 1949 by the Daughters of Wisdom from the family of Margaret and Frederick Busk. The Busk family estate became a convent and novitiate for the Daughters of Wisdom, and was named Mary Immaculate Novitiate. In 1960, the center also housed Seat of Wisdom College and in 1967, the center began its transition into an interfaith retreat center with the presence of a Buddhist retreat.
Wisdom House has several buildings on its campus, the oldest, with fireplace dates back to 1770. The barn, built circa1925, is now a meeting room. The colonial brick building, an outdoor swimming pool, 70 acres of meadows and forests, all comprise the campus of Wisdom House.
In the final decade of the 20th century, Wisdom House experienced several renovations which provided for 67 bedrooms (136 beds), 12 meeting rooms and two dining rooms. The chapel was renovated to provide a more welcoming space for worship services of different religions. The Marie Louise Trichet Gallery became a concrete expression of the connection we see between art and contemplation.
Our outdoor sanctuaries include one of the first outdoor labyrinths in Connecticut, the first solar panels on a Connecticut retreat center, the Founders' Bell in our Peace Garden, shrine areas, a Peace Pole, and a medieval Mary Garden.
Wisdom House values its location in the historic town of Litchfield, incorporated in 1721. The town provides historic cultural resources to all who visit this area. (www.litchfieldct.com)